2016 World AeroPress Championship

When / Thursday 23rd June, 2016
Time / Doors open at 6pm, competitor access from 3pm.
WhereWigWam,  54 Middle Abbey St, Dublin – Google Maps

Supporters / Cafe Imports, Workshop Coffee, ACME & Co., La Marzocco, Bonavita, Baratza, Brita, Mahlkonig, Amor Perfecto & Sprudge

Registration / Registration is now open via the Eventbrite page found here. You must register to compete by the 26th May to ensure you receive your practise coffee! Please also supply the name of your helper in the registration process – you’ll be prompted to answer the question.

Tickets / Attendee tickets will go on sale on the 1st June and ticket can be found here

Timing / Please ensure you arrive to WigWam at 3pm sharp. It’s probably a city you’ve never been to, so ensure you make enough time for travel.

3:00pm Competitors Arrival & initial briefing
3:30pm Competitors Practise Time
5:30pm Competitors Practise Time shutdown
5:45pm Competitor Briefing
6:30pm Competition Starts

Helpers / There are 52 countries competing this year, so there will be many people at the space at the same time. With this in mind, each competitor will be able to have one person only to assist during practise time. All other supporters, helpers, assistants and mascots will have to purchase an attendee ticket. 

Practice Times / Practise time will be split into 2x 1 hour slots. The first slot will be from 3:30pm until 4:30pm. The second slot from 4:30pm until 5:30pm. Your practise time is listed below:


3:30 – 4:30

4:30 – 5:30

Australia Germany New Zealand South Korea
Austria Greece Northern Ireland Spain
Belgium Hong Kong Norway Sweden
Brazil Hungary Peru Switzerland
Canada Indonesia Phillipines Taiwan
China Iran Poland Thailand
Colombia Ireland Romania Turkey
Czech Republic Italy Russia UAE
Denmark Japan Saudi Arabia Ukraine
Ecuador Lithuania Scotland USA
England Malaysia Singapore Venezuela
Finland Mexico Slovakia Wales
France Netherlands South Africa


Rounds / The competition rounds will run to the following format:

Round 1: 13 rounds of 4 competitors each. 13 winners will proceed to the Semi Finals
Semi Finals: 3 Rounds of 3 competitors. 1 round of 4 competitors. 4 winners.
Grand Final: 1 Round. 4 Competitors. 1 winner.

Complete draw and competitor timings will be available at the briefing.

Coffee / Coffee was shipped on the 30th May from Workshop in London.

Rules / The rules are the same as per the Rules page, but there are is a single rule change:

  1. All competitors will have a 5 minutes comp time, not 8 minutes.

The required volume of the drink is 200ml, which must be served in the supplied ACME cup. No added ingredients are allowed. All competitors will have a 5 minutes comp time, this includes prep time & brew time – the clock will count down from 5 minutes. Failure to serve the drink in that time will mean disqualification. The technique used by the competitor must be in writing and given to the Head Judge – this will not be considered in judging, but must be given to the Head Judge before your round begins.

Once your round is complete, please ensure your podium is cleared and cleaned. There will be an area for storage of competitors equipment. There will be an 1 hour opportunity for practise brewing before the competition.

Equipment / Each competitor section will be stocked with the following equipment:

• Bonavita 1.0L Variable Temp Gooseneck Kettles
• Bonavita BV2000SC Scales
• Mahlkonig EK43 Grinders with Coffee burrs

Each competitor will be given an ACME cup on their station to pour the final brew into. Competitors are expected to bring whatever brew gear they require such as:

• Aeropress, and paper filters
• Jugs to brew into

Ireland runs on 230V power. Your electrical equipment MAY NOT WORK, please be wary of this. We will not have adapters – make sure you bring your own.

Please label all your gear carefully with your name in case you lose it. We’d also recommend packing it in a box with your name on the outside. No responsibility will be taken for lost or damaged gear.

Water / WBCC spec water supplied by Brita. You can also use your own water.

Judges / The format for judges has changed this year. The fundamentals are the same; three judges per round, but the judges selection process is new. Here are the judges:

Dan Boobier of Workshop Coffee in London, England
Gilbert Gatali of KZ Noir in Kigali, Rwanda
Amanda Juris of Verve Coffee Roasters in Santa Cruz, California
Robyn Butler of 3FE in Dublin, Ireland
Stephen Vick of Beanstock in Nairobi, Kenya
Jessica Godfrey of ACME & Co. in Wellington, New Zealand
Ari Fasanella of Cafe Imports in Berlin, Germany
Enrico Wurm of La Marzocco in Florence, Italy
Sam Muhirwa of Buf Cafe in Ginkongoro, Rwanda
Anne Lunell of Koppi in Helsingborg, Sweden
Estelle Bright of La Marzocco in London, England

Finally / Please remember this competition was designed to be simple and fun, please be present with this spirit. We will be doing our best on the night to make this a great event for all, so please be prepared, be patient and most of all have fun!

Contact / Tim & Tim – hello@aero.press