poster_18x24_wall_mockup (12)

I’ll be honest… I’m really not sure where to start with this poster. A padlocked Hario pouring kettle come bicycle saddle with hand poking out from the underside is flanked by an umbrella-covered, key-containing AeroPress, perched on a set of scales with cigarette lighters, leaves and a sparrow all adjacent. What does it all mean? I have no idea.

But whatever the design brief, it’s a creatively agile mind that processed it and spat out this poster. And that mind belongs to the Dutch artist, Resuk, who created the poster for the 2014 Dutch AeroPress Championship. Ralf Resuk is better known for his work in illustration and fashion, but we’re stoked he turned his hand the promotion of competitive coffee brewing in this instance.

I have a print of this poster hanging in my office, and spend at least a few minutes staring at it each day. Eventually, I’ll work it out.