WAC poster_web-2

Heading to the southern hemisphere for the first time, the 2013 championship was held in Melbourne, Australia and constituted the first time the event was held in the evening amongst a party environment. Alongside La Marzocco and Five Senses at their “Brews ‘n’ Bats” coffee and ping-pong event, a field of 18 competitors was topped by Jeff Verellen of Belgium, taking home his second world title.



Competitor List

Nation Name Company
Australia Joseph Liu Home Barista
Australia Devin Loong Auction Rooms
Australia Mitch Hayes Double Barrel
Australia Junji Tai Mecca
Belgium Jeff Verellen Caffenation *
Denmark Tobias Mosegaard Jensen Sigfred’s Kaffebar
Hungary Tibor Varady Espresso Embassy *
Iceland Torfi Þór Torfason formally The Coffee Collective
Ireland Mark Ashbridge *
Japan Shinya Okabe Fukuoka *
Korea Park Byung-kyu Coffea Coffee *
Norway Ingri Margrethe Johnsen Solberg & Hansen
Poland Julia Ślązak Relaks Cafe *
Sweden Dinh Phong Nguyen Home Barista *
Taiwan Jonathan “Sunbear” Chao Taipei
UK Isa Verschraegen Talkhouse Coffee *
USA Andy Sprenger Ceremony Coffee Roasters *
USA Wille Yli-Luoma Heart Roasters

* National Championship Winner