Poster courtesy of BWJ at Dear Coffee, I Love You

Held to coincide with the Specialty Coffee Association of America trade show, the 2012 championship was co-hosted by La Marzocco and Marco at their show booth in Portland, Oregon. Competitors were provided with a washed coffee from Sidamo, Ethiopia to compete with, roasted by local outfit, Heart. A total of 18 competitors entered, and the title was taken by Charlene de Buysere of OR Coffee Roasters in Belgium.



Competitor List

Nation Name Company
Australia Aidan Knight Ora Cafe *
Belgium Charlene De Buysere OR Coffee *
Canada Cody Smith Black & White Coffee Roasters *
Denmark Casper Engel Rasmussen The Coffee Collective
England Shaun Young Taylor Street Baristas *
Finland Jussi Laitinen Home Barista *
Guatemala Raul Rodas Paradigm Coffee *
Ireland Lorcan Fagan Home Barista *
Japan Masahiro Onishi Honey Coffee *
Norway Ingri Margrethe Johnsen Solberg & Hansen
Poland Piotr Markowski Cafe My’o’My *
Republic of Korea Lee Jong Hoon Momos Coffee
Russia Olga Melik-Karakozova Koffein
Sweden Emil Eriksson Johan & Nyström *
USA US AeroPress Champion 1st place *
USA US AeroPress Champion 2nd place
USA US AeroPress Champion 3rd place

* National Championship Winner